***“Five Points.” Named for the heart of the MARTA train lines, it’s a blog where I’ll quickly highlight five random things that I’m thinking about, tech stuff, or some other piece of randomosity.***

Shame on Me!

So the real reason I went to Phoenix a couple of weeks ago was to do penance. I had been a HORRIBLE ethnographer and let over 20 interviews accumulate that hadn’t been annotated and transcribed (Thank God for Express Scribe). So 3 days and over 70 pages later they were all done. Hey kids, be better than me.

USoul Mag

In the same vein of my question about how you got into the music you love, I came across the digi mag USoul. This is one of the first sites that mesh the archaic practice of reading a hardcopy magazine with new school demands for multimedia sensory overload. This month’s cover? Yahzarah. Next month? Eric Roberson. Dopeness.

We aint even Black no more???

Somehow or another I came across the book, Post-Black: How a New Generation is Defining African American Identity. I’ve heard the term “post-black” used by assorted talking heads and still have no clue what the hell it means. I only know a little about Ytasha Womack, but one thing is for sure, in the age of Obama, this is only a drop of water in the deluge of forthcoming literature that will define/redefine/confine ideas about Black folx.

*gasp* It’s Betty Davis

The reclusive funk rock diva/wife of Miles Davis resurfaced to do an interview with J. Hayes. If you don’t know, Betty Davis was a badass chick that recorded with funk gods like Larry Graham and blues legends like Clarence “Gatemouth” Brown. What she lacked in vocal ability, she made up for in sheer moxie and sensuality. She’s notorious for NOT doing interviews, so I was really curious to hear what she had to say after disappearing from the scene thirty years ago. Interesting Read.

The Fantasia I Want to See!

Speaking of out of the box performances by Black women. I love Fantasia Barrino for her talent and determination, but her records SUCK. They’re bland ass R&B songs that try to reign her voice in rather than let it break out. Yuck. If I were her label/A&R rep, I’d go back to the future and dust off some of the types of songs big voice divas like Aretha and Patti Labelle did in the 70s and 80s. Exhibit A: Fantasia doing a live cover of “Lady Marmalade” *with* Mama Patti in the audience losing her mind. The girl took ‘em straight to church on a song about hoes. I love it.

