Here’s the scene: the homie Monty and I met last Thursday night @ 6:30 at one of my favorite watering holes, 255, to chat about life in the music business as Darien Brockington’s manager. Although Monty and I are great friends this meeting was “official dissertation business.” But when I picked 255 as the meeting place, somehow I forgot for people with jobs, Thursday night often means “Friday Eve” and that 6:30 is smack in the middle of Happy Hour.

The following audio snippet from that interview is an example of what can happen to you when you decide to schedule an ethnographic interview in the middle of Happy Hour and your accosted by a rather “happy” person:

turn down your work speakers and click here

That whole exchange was hilariously random. It was a poignant reminder that while as an ethnographer I’m super conscious of people as a part of my “observable world,” to this lady, I was just a chick at a bar who could  (or could not) join in her merriment. After all I was the one sitting at a bar audio recording a “serious” conversation in a place designed for inebriation and frolicking. Clearly, I was the one who was out of place. But I love working where people play…I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Happy Monday People!

