So here are a few of my favorite old school funk jams by groups that are based here in Atlanta. Atlanta’s funk output may not have been as prolific as Ohio, but here are some songs that are guaranteed to get your week started off right!

First up, Brick. (By the way, Jimmy Brown of Brick is the father of producer/recording artist/musician Sleepy Brown.)

I know you India.Arie and Akinyele fans will recognize this one

And Brick’s biggest hit

Now on to the SOS Band. The two songs I chose are absolute GEMS produced by the two of the best producers ever in the history of the world…Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis.

And this is a personal fave of mine that sends me back to childhood

All right, last but certainly not list. One of my favorite songs ever: Mother’s Finest with “Love Changes.”

